Injury from motorcycle accidents frequently has a permanent impact. Lack of legal representation significantly lowers your chances of receiving just recompense for your injuries. You might wonder how long you have to file a motorbike crash lawsuit in Washington after an accident. Find out more regarding the Washington State motorcycle accident statute of limitations and how it may apply to your case. You can contact Khaninjurylaw.com to get assistance with your claim.
What Is Washington’s Statute of Limitations for Motorcycle Accident Claims?
A statute of limitations is state legislation establishing certain deadlines for bringing a claim. A plaintiff is believed to have given up their right to file a lawsuit if they do not file their share on time. Depending on the specifics, several distinct statutes of limitations can extend to your motorcycle crash claim.
Personal Injury Statute of Limitations in General
The three-year statute of limitations in Washington for motorcycle accidents begins on the day of the collision. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Washington is the same as for other claims. Although there are specific exclusions to this statute of limitations, they are uncommon, so delaying your claim, even if you believe one might apply to you, is typically not a good idea.
After a motorcycle accident, you could feel overpowered. However, delaying your case just makes your post-accident worry and anxiety worse. Soon after your accident, you should retain legal counsel to safeguard your interests and give your attorney time to prepare a compelling defense on your behalf.
Limitation Period for Wrongful Death
The surviving family members of someone who tragically perishes in a motorbike accident may be able to file a wrongful death lawsuit. Three years are allowed after the death to file a wrongful death claim.
Limitations on Government Claims Statute of Limitations
Specific guidelines apply when a municipal or state government worker or institution may be to blame for your accident. In these circumstances, you must submit a form of claim notice to the local or state government where you sustained your injury. After that, you have to wait 60 days before bringing a lawsuit.
The statute of limitations for such claims is 3 years from the time of the accident or, in the instance of wrongful death, 3 years from the date of death, just like it is for claims against other people.
Statute of Limitations Exemptions
Your claim for a motorcycle accident may be eligible under several exemptions to the statute of limitations regulations recognized by Washington state. These exclusions may “toll” the statute of limitations, extending the time you have to submit your claim.
- The Disclosure Rule
- Minors and Incapacitated People
- The Disclosure Rule
- Defendant’s Death